Schloss Nymphenburg (Nymphenburg castle) is home to the world’s only collection of Nymphenburg porcelain.
The porcelain museum is located on the top floor of the Marstallmuseum (carriage museum) in the southern part of the palace. Visitor can catch a glimpse of over 1000 items from the Nymphenburg porcelain factory, which was founded by Elector Max III. Joseph in 1747 and is still creating porcelain today, not far from the museum in Nymphenburg.
The collection was set up by Albert Bäuml, who took charge of the factory in 1888. It contains pieces from the factory’s very beginnings in the 1700s through to work from the mid 20th century.
The museum is particularly proud of its Rococo Commedia dell’arte figures created by former master modeller Franz Anton Bustelli and its selection of art nouveau porcelain in innovative shapes and designs.