Café Luitpold

Coffee house with a long tradition

Café Luitpold is an institution of the Brienner Quartier. It was once frequented by successful writers and artists, such as Frank Wedekind, Stefan George and the painters from the Blue Rider movement.

When it opened in 1888, Café-Restaurant Luitpold in Munich was not your average café. It was a real architectural treasure and one of the largest coffee houses in Europe. With over 15 rooms and lounges – including the first billiard room containing 16 tables – it appealed to everyone, not just coffee lovers.

Back then, Café Luitpold was one of the most important meeting points for Munich society. Artists, authors and free thinkers passed through its doors on a regular basis. Wassily Kandinsky and Paul Klee are said to have founded the Blue Rider artists’ group here in 1911.

The bombing at the end of the Second World War largely destroyed this luxurious establishment. However, the café had reopened again by 1948 after being stripped back slightly and redesigned as an orangery. Since then, it has undergone multiple updates and makeovers.

Following an extensive renovation in 2010, the traditional café has returned to its former glory, serving guests classic specialities like home-made cakes, pastries, biscuits and pralines, as well as dishes for fine dining. The kitchen has been repeatedly recognised by the Michelin Guide.

With a series known as “Salon im Luitpold”, the venue hosts a range of cultural events, including matinées, evening talks and discussion groups with guests from the worlds of art, culture and science.

www.cafe-luitpold.de

 

Photo: Café Luitpold