The Marstallmuseum in Schloss Nymphenburg palace is home to a splendid collection of over forty antique coaches, sleighs and gala carriages. Also on display there is a collection of fine Nymphenburg porcelain.
This exhibition of unique pieces represents three hundred years of Wittelsbach family vehicle history. It is one of the most important collections of its kind in the world, with highlights including the coronation coach of Emperor Karl VII, one of the most beautiful coaches built in the French Rococo style, and various sleighs and exquisite coaches which belonged to “Fairytale King” Ludwig II, whose fame as the builder of Neuschwanstein Castle extended far beyond the borders of Bavaria.
Since 1952, the Marstallmuseum has been located in the former court stables, in the southern wing of Schloss Nymphenburg. After the monarchy came to an end, the people of Munich could visit the former Marstall royal riding school in the city centre to marvel at the royal vehicles. The first Marstallmuseum opened there in 1923, but it was largely destroyed in air raids in 1944 – fortunately, the exhibits had already been moved to Nymphenburg by that time.
The Marstallmuseum also houses some other treasures too: an impressive private collection of Nymphenburg porcelain spanning three centuries can be viewed on the first floor.