The German Hunting and Fishing Museum has been situated in Munich’s pedestrian zone since 1966. Today it is one of the most important museums devoted to hunting in the world.
Some impressive exhibits from the world of hunting and fishing await visitors here today. There are approximately 3,000 square metres of exhibition space housing stuffed animals, hunting weapons and a large number of paintings, graphics and hand drawings.
The origins of the German Hunting and Fishing Museum go back to the beginning of the 20th Century, to a time when hunting was still an important part of social life. At that time the calls for a museum in Munich devoted to hunting became ever louder.
Later on the subject of hunting came to have a rather special meaning for the National Socialists. At the very last minute the former Bavarian Ministry for Agriculture halted the proposed sale of a collection of antlers belonging to the Duke Arco to the Netherlands. This went on to form the basis of the collection at the Munich Hunting Museum.
With the support of the National Socialist regime, the North wing of the Nymphenburg Palace opened its gates to house the collection in October 1938. The occasion was marked by a great procession under the slogan: “1,000 years of hunting – 1,000 years of traditional costumes.” This was a perfect opportunity for the National Socialist Party to promote its message.
After the Second World War, the Museum’s future looked uncertain. In 1958, it was decided, however, to use the former church of St Augustine in the pedestrian zone as a new location for the Museum. The museum was opened in November 1968.
It was not until the beginning of the 1980s that the collection was expanded with the addition of the first fresh water museum department in the German-speaking world and the museum’s name was changed to the German Hunting and Fishing Museum.